How Leaders Inspire Actions

How do you inspire and influence others toward a common goal?

Video | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to How Leaders Inspire Actions

  1. Morgan Carson says:

    The speaker refers to a model he uses called the golden circle which states why, how, and what. This is a genius model to base daily life on. Instead of working from the outside in (what, how, and why), he challenges the listener to work from the inside out. He goes on to explain that the human brain is wired to think and feel that way. In my own personal leadership style, I need to reverse and work from the inside out. I really liked the speaker in this video.

  2. Sam Fleck says:

    This was a really interesting video to watch and It made me think differently about how to be a leader and why people will follow you. When I was watching this video it reminded me a lot of Thomas Paine’s section in the Kellerman reading. Kellerman explains that “Common Sense” appeared at just the right time and that many Americans weren’t pursuaded just yet. The fact that Thomas Paine was without doubt and the fact that he was convinced himself of the “correctness of his course” as Kellerman writes, was the flame that ignited the revolution. This video really made the lightbulb turn on for me and definitely makes sense.

  3. Emma Douglas says:

    Watching this video really opened my eyes to why people follow leaders. It is true that people don’t want to take part in something if you don’t believe in it first. For any common goal as a leader, he or she must first demonstrate a personal connection to their goal; they “why.” Why you want something to be successful and why you believe in it is the reason why people will join in and want to take part. When thinking of my personal leadership style, I need to reverse the way I approach communicating a common goal. Normally, when communicating a goal, I approach it by stating the possible outcome and the goal itself; now, after watching this video, I know that I should share why that goal is good and why I believe in it.

  4. Daniel M says:

    That’s pretty neat. I’ve always thought that you should first make a case for what you’re trying to accomplish before you explain why. Logically it doesn’t make sense going backwards but I suppose we’re thinking with emotion in this instance. I’ll keep this idea in mind the next time I need to get people on board with one of my ideas.

  5. Zack Snow says:

    I think it is interesting that something so obvious to you when someone explains it to you can remain hidden for so long. This video really does not change my leadership style or even my opinion of why people are good leaders. It does however, make me more aware of what drives people to follow others and what makes people turn their heads.

  6. Dixon Holland says:

    When I try to inspire others to meet a common goal or to share a common view with myself, I first start out with an argument on why they should agree with me, or why they should share the same ideas or view that I do. Then I work to change the minds of others, by showing them why what I believe is right. Once people share the same views that you do, they can be influenced to believe exactly what you believe, so long as the argument is logical.

  7. Esther Jeong says:

    It not what we do but why we do it.
    The goal is to do business with people who believe what you believe.

    These two paraphrases from the video are profound. I’m kind of dumbfounded. Because his points are too true. We cannot even fathom buying a mp3 player from Dell. Apple has clearly done an astounding job at what they do. But the mindset is incredible. People who believe what believe what you believe will act with their hearts not just their minds. It’s incredible. It makes you think about your leadership style over again.

    • Taylor McClain says:

      I agree completely with you, Esther. Apple was a great example to use in this video. It’s not that their production resources are better, it’s that we as consumers identify with their philosophy more. That sells their products.

  8. Anna Lehman says:

    This video provides a very important point. As leaders we need to know what we believe, so we can attract and get others to follow and believe what we believe. I love the example of the Wright brothers. They are true leaders who know what they believe in, and know why they are doing what they are doing. So many people these days are just doing things because others are doing them. Leaders need to know why they are doing what they are doing, so they can successfully inspire and influence others.

  9. Riley St. Pierre says:

    I definitely think it’s not only important to know what you believe but to be able to communicate it effectively as well. People who are great leaders can communicate their beliefs very well and they’re actions are then consistent with their words. Many people can all work towards a certain goal but there are only going to be certain people that achieve it because there are certain ways that work and don’t work, so therefore it is important to know what the best way to do that is as a leader. I try to inspire others towards a common goal with confidence that what I believe is right and why I believe it is right. I think this inspires others and gives others confidence to believe in themselves.

  10. Thomas Nave says:

    I think this video is an incredible discovery in the world of business and leadership. The answer to success was right in front of us the whole time, and we didn’t even know it. When you have your product backed by meaning, and not only a great product, it becomes that much more effective to the consumer. The secret to success in finding the meaning in what you do, not just how you do it or what you do. So profound.

  11. Lauren Nance says:

    I really liked this video. It opened my eyes to see certain aspects relating to leader-follower relationships I hadn’t thought of before. I liked Anna’s Wright brothers comment. They were willing to step out and try something that had never been done before with people constantly criticizing them and not respecting their projects. A leader has to be the same way. If they aren’t willing to stand up for something they believe in, it might be be worth their while to step back and analyze if their style of leadership is being effective for their followers or not.

  12. Alexander Jones says:

    I influence and inspire others by encouraging them to do their best. I believe having a positive attitude and just motivating the group to do their best brings out their best work and productivity. Everyone should find the meaning for what they do rather than just doing it and I believe encouragement is what brings this out the most.

  13. Emma Reeves says:

    Leadership is typically very philosophical and theoretical, making it hard to grasp sometimes. Since I am a visual person that likes to have concrete examples to go by, I really enjoyed this video. The illustration of the golden circle put leadership into a perspective that I can easily understand and apply. It just makes sense. People want to follow those with genuine intrinsic values because they know they won’t be corrupted or taken advantage of . I think we need more leaders that are grounded in the “why” rather than the “what.”

  14. Patrick Lawrence says:

    I use a leadership strategy that involves inspiring followers and including them in big decisions so they feel important and a big part of the cause. When everyone is included, morale increases and the success of the overall cause will be greatly improved. I like to explain the goals clearly to followers so that we are all on the same page, and a personal preference of mine is to use humor and a relaxed tone to take the edge and nervousness, if any, out of the conversational equation. It all just needs to make sense and then they will be good followers if you in turn can be a good leader.

  15. Katy Kelly says:

    As for his questions about how the people in the beginning (MLK, the Wright brothers, and Apple) have been able to make so many great strives forward, I believe this has to do with their imagination. They have the capability to imagine a different world, or strive for something that no one has ever accomplished before. While many people may not want to follow after these “radical ideas,” these are the ones that make a difference and improve the world.

  16. Jake Brown says:

    I also think imagination plays a key role in beginnings. Obviously the end product has not come about yet so one must be able to picture it in one’s mind. The vision has to be made by the leader and the final product has to be imagined by the leader. I agree that these ideas can improve the world but they don’t always come about for improvement. Leadership can influence negative change sometimes and that is one flaw in the system that is life.

  17. Emily Hucks says:

    Like Emma said, this video opened my eyes as to why people follow a single person, the leader. In this video he mentioned the golden circle-why how what-explains why some organizations can inspire when others can’t. Most organizations know explain what and how, but most can’t tell people why they are doing something. He said that most people buy why you do it not what you do.

  18. Macy Kinder says:

    I influence and inspire others by bringing out the best in people and encouraging them to do their best. I think that the best way to get the most out of someone is to give that person a reason to be involved. When you encourage a person then that person feels good about who he/she is and what he/she is doing. When someone feels good then that person wants to do even better. I try to highlight and praise people’s talents, so that they really want to put 100% in them.

  19. Jacob Clore says:

    I find it very interesting what this guy has to say. I think that a good leader must explain his motivations if he wants to be followed. I can definitely see why apple has succeeded for so long, they give us a reason to buy their products.

    • Courtney H says:

      I agree with this, if you give a customer a meaning and a reason that they should be invested in your products, they will be more willing to buy. It is the same with a leader, if he explains his motives to his followers, then they will be more prone to follow him.

  20. John jones says:

    The way I influence others is by connecting with them on a personal level. With anyone that I work with I try to relate with them and put myself in their shoes. I believe I inspire people by being open-minded and showing a genuine desire to help and work with anyone.

  21. David Bohn says:

    I really enjoyed what this video had to say. In most situations, I feel like most of us know what to do and how to do it. That can be taught easily.The why we do something, can be told to someone but it takes a belief to follow through on the why part. When followers are united and know why they are doing something, there is a common goal and with an understanding of why something is happening, change is met with less resistance. As a leader one should always know why they are doing something.

  22. Mariana Sa says:

    During this semester we were asked several times to describe our personal styles as leaders or at least try to think about it or form one if we didn’t already have that in mind. And so for that, when talking about myself, I like to use a very silly but very true analogy that is the one of throwing trash on the street. I don’t do it, I just don’t. I remember being 8 or 9 years old when I read on a magazine that this was bad for the planet and that I should keep my trash on the car, or on my pocket until I find a trashcan. When I think about the person I am right now and the little thing with the trash, I see it as a way to inspire leadership. I am worried about my community and it is important for me to make the difference, so taking this little step into consideration could be a way to inspire others. I also like to smile at people I don’t know and I thank people when I see them doing something nice to the community. This last example is a way I was influenced by someone else as I was picking up some trash I saw on my way back from D2 the other day. I picked up the trash and my friend made fun of me, so I replied that I wan’t to live on a clean campus. This girl randomly thanked me for that, and so from that day on I always thank people, as a way to inspire them to take the action, to be leaders while we can.

  23. Kyle Rushton says:

    While watching this video, I was able to connect it to “creating a vision” form Northouse. The components of a vision inspire and influence others toward a common goal. The video referred to starting from “Why” and moving outward to “How” and “What”. “Why” is achieved by creating a vision and deciding what is to be changed. From there, the other two parts of the circle can be determined. I also thought about the leader and follower relationship while watching this video. By creating a good relationship with followers, a leader can effectively influence others toward a common goal. As the video explains, “people don’t buy what you do, but why you do it”. This statement stands true for leadership, as people follow a common goal, which can be seen as the “why” in leadership.

  24. Will Coffey says:

    Watching the video I took in two key points. It’s not what, but why we do something. And believing in something is absolutely crucial for people to take part of something in the first place. Both of his points were extremely true. The fact that Apple is so successful because they advertise why they do something first, should not be a surprise, as it makes sense. People want to buy something that a company takes pride in, because it’s quality will be superior to others. Apple definitely has monopolized the mp3 player market, and that is probably mainly because of the way they have advertised their products.

  25. Jasmine Porter says:

    One of the main key points that I have grasped from this video is “the Golden Circle.” Now looking out side in to our society at a whole I have noticed that most individuals ponder on the what factor when making decision. After analyzing some historical leaders I noticed that they think inside out. Good leaders thing of the why factor and their purpose for what there doing, I agree with the video that people follow leaders that have a purpose for what their doing.

  26. Cat Hauser says:

    I might have taken this the wrong way, but when the video talks about from the inside our not the outside in, I immediately thought of my parents. I was always a loud child who did not think before I spoke; my parents always told me to think before I spoke. When I thought about this, I thought about leadership and how I should think and make a plan before I speak.

  27. Crista Watson says:

    The way we do things is completely unique for every person. How we motivate ourselves is also a personal matter. But when we do good, we all strive to do better. In reality, it’s not just the things we do that matter but how we come about towards accomplishing those goals is the key.

  28. Luke Carroll says:

    I have also seen this clip in one of my other classes for business and each time I watch it, it has the same effect. Mr. Sinek presents a very intriguing and different view on leadership and a different view in the business marketplace. Sinek says that knowing “why” is the key. I had never thought of this question before, specifically Sinek states “people don’t buy what you do people buy why you do it,” this in my opinion couldn’t be more correct. Think of anytime you have been in an interview for a leadership position, and the interviewers ask you why do want this position? YOu may answer with a typical, “oh, i was this and this and the president of this so I am qualified.” What they really want to hear is, “I believe in what you are doing with this, and this is why I want to be apart of it.” That is the message that Sinek is sending and this is the message that leaders like Martin Luther King Jr. or Gandhi, people that Sinek referenced, were able to be so effective as leaders.

  29. Miles Rachner says:

    I believe what Mr. Sinek had to say was spot on. That people want to follow leader they can relate with, and not people who have greater power. One example that matches up with this is the Revolutionary war. The British Empire was the most powerful force at the time. It had a larger army, more resources, and better trained leaders. However they lost the war. The reason this was such an upset was because of what he said. The rebels fought under leaders such as George Washington because of their beliefs, while the other men fighting were just fighting for a pay check. The British did not believe in what they fought for. The Americans did, and this is why they won. To be an effective leader you have to be able to express what you believe in.

    • Kyla Mauro says:

      I agree with Miles on his point that if you believe in something you have more drive and motivation to do it. This is what the video was talking about and i think it absolutely correct. Say if one employee is more passionate than another, the boss will be able to tell by the work that is produced because the outcome depends on the amount of care and time that is put in. Having more passion will produce that.

  30. Adam says:

    I believe that having passion is an important part of leadership. Followers can tell if the leader cares about what they are doing and it rubs off on them. When people are passionate about what they are doing they are more positive, driven, and strong.

  31. Hoo In Won says:

    This video pointed out very important point of life. Such speech showed how can an individual can be successful. This lead to the conclusion, which if i want to be successful in my life, i should question why i am waking up everyday, why i am in college, why do i want to be success. It is not about how and what i want to be. It is all about the gist of life, which is why. This video actually inspired and enlightened me.

  32. Cat Hauser says:

    I’m going to answer the question in this post. Not most people did so sorry if I am wrong in doing this but, I use my personality to inspire other towards a common goal. I am upbeat and enthusiastic. I use this to get other excited for a task so it will get accomplished.

  33. Suzanne Berry says:

    Ever since elementary school, we were taught to describe everything using the 5 W’s…who, what, when, where, and why (+how). We were never specifically told to always use them in this order, but it came naturally to use them in this same order that flowed off the tip of our tongues. So, it makes sense that we’re not used to using why and how first. They are last when we do what comes naturally. Putting them first takes extra effort and seems to pay off when using “the golden circle” as the speaker demonstrates.

  34. Lindsay DeMers says:

    I inspire and influence people by telling them about my vision/common goal. I try to make it an awesome vision because I think having an innovative idea is more inspiring. I try to do things that challenge people to keep things interesting. However, according to Simon Sinek, the vision should be the last thing I tell people. I need to tell people the meaning and purpose of the work we’re doing and give them something they’ll believe in. I can understand why Simon Sinek says to do this because I think people desperately want something to believe in, so they know that what they are doing gives them a reason for being.

  35. Libby Howe says:

    After viewing this Ted talk I have started to pay more attention to commercials on TV. Sinek’s theory rings true: so many commercials advertising successful companies share with viewers the beliefs of the company before the logistics of the product. Whether or not this theory holds outside of the business and marketing aspects of society is a further question. It is undeniably that MLK Jr. was one of the most influential orators in history and he definitely shared his beliefs and visions for the future more than any product.
    Personally, I have my convictions. I have a handful of causes that I believe, with all my heart, need to be successful. Any product, fund raiser, event that benefits any of my choice causes will have my full support. Those leading these causes know to keep the cause at the center of everything they do in order to reach people like me.

  36. Jerry Huang says:

    Words such as these aren’t exactly unique to the situation, and I would consider that leadership is something that can be improved, but raw talent and personality itself has a greater effect on the entire person. Motivation for life, to improve oneself, to improve community; these are common themes of numerous talks that a large amount of people listen to. I feel as if these talks are redundant in the sense that those who need a method to lead will be untrue to themselves and ineffective. You can teach anyone a process, but it takes certain talent to conceptualize.

  37. Taylor McClain says:

    I really liked this speaker. The idea of the golden circle really struck me too. Before doing or creating anything new, it’s important to establish our values and personal beliefs. Maybe that’s why our first essay assignment this semester was to write about five of our personal values. That’s what I got out of the video, anyway.

Leave a Reply

